SYMPATHY FOR A LOBSTER & SYMPATHY FROM A LOBSTER (2 POEMS)

SYMPATHY FOR A LOBSTER
William Wright Harris

I am familiar with pangs
of guilt.

Dropping the
creature into the
boiling water made
me remember my
first marriage;

especially the screaming.

SYMPATHY FROM A LOBSTER
William Wright Harris

Although you are about to
boil me alive,
break open my body and
scoop out my everything,

I pity you.

Tomorrow you will be
hungry, and I never will be
again.

©2012 This work is the property of the author.

Posted on February 22, 2012, in POETRY, William Wright Harris and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. MM is breaking its rule of one poem a day for William Wright Harris. I couldn’t bear to separate the very funny SYMPATHY FOR A LOBSTER from its slightly more philosophical companion piece.

  2. Good potted philosophy.

  3. A lobster in the rough poem in a reductive reasoning of transfigured waters.

Leave a Reply

