SONNET FOR ELIZABETH BARRETT BROWNIE

SONNET FOR ELIZABETH BARRETT BROWNIE
Ray Sharp

How do I love thee? Let me enumerate.
I love thee to the depth and breadth and girth
My arms can reach around thy Earth-
Like expanse of graceful weight.
I love thee to the level of thy gleaming pate,
Reflecting Apollo’s glory and Bacchus’s mirth.
I love thee freely and give thee wide berth
When thou go-est to the buffet thy soul to sate.
I love thee with the passionate sigh
That thy globular contours do invoke
When to thy corpulence I am nigh.
G-d grant that I should quickly die
If thou wouldst ever leave, or choke
Upon thy pastrami Reuben on rye.

©2012 This work is the property of the author.

Posted on March 3, 2012, in POETRY, Ray Sharp and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Ray has sent in some good stuff to MM. This is the first. With recent poems on MM which have referenced poets as various as John Ashbery and Rimbaud, this is one is not too out of step but one with a light touch, ironically so. And funny. Head to the Poets’ Page for a link to Ray’s own site.

  2. Satirical monologue worthy of Liz’s Portugese’s sonnets transferred to a deli of a last supper
    without the divine intervention.

  1. Pingback: New Publication at a New Lit Mag « The Bard of Liminga, Ray Sharp

Leave a Reply

