CALL ME

CALL ME
Ivan Jenson

Call me short,
broke, incapable of
holding down
a job or a relationship
you can call me
substandard, subhuman,
subterranean who slums
through his sad excuse
for a life story
and you can
spit on my next of kin
throw stones
at my un-original sins
and toss pebbles at
my troubles
you can snicker at me
from the bare soles
of my feet
to my lost soul
who has no spirit guide
you can call me
all these things
just call,
I want to see if
my new cell phone
ringtone works

©2012 This work is the property of the author.

Posted on March 30, 2012, in Ivan Jenson, POETRY and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Very good: I love the way this piece leads you on plaintively, then slaps you with the trivial.
    thanks for posting
    Rob.

  2. A second poem from Ivan. Someone, please give him a call.

  3. I echo wobsy. The reader is softened up by the important and then steps into a sucker punch of the trivial. Good stuff.

  4. A satire of modernity of the ultimate initiation and inflation of language to get a point across. A
    clever manipulation of a man’s splash down sensibility and the ability of a poet to make
    language work in the work a day pedestrian world we live in.

Leave a Reply

