TOPIARIES

TOPIARIES
Ron Yazinski
 

At the red light near Kerouac’s house in College Park,
I see a large topiary cross in front of a Church.
In Florida, where every corner has a church,
Even the real one needs a gimmick to save souls.

Whether or not it’s organic,
Is impossible to tell from where I am.
I remember years ago taking my kids to Disney World
For breakfast with the characters.

After they wiped their syrupy hands
On the fur of Chip and Dale.
We headed back to our hotel.
On the way, I stopped the car

And posed both of them next
To a topiary of a baby elephant.
As I focused the camera, my six-year old son said,
“Dad, feel these leaves; they’re plastic.”

Which makes sense:
A living thing is too difficult to maintain.

©2012 This work is the property of the author.

Posted on March 31, 2012, in POETRY, Ron Yazinski and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Another incisive look at contemporary life from Ron. Compare it to his poem, OSBORNE FESTIVAL OF LIGHTS.

    OSBORNE FESTIVAL OF LIGHTS

  2. The comparisons within this poem create a profound tension which is countered cleverly with the young boy’s observation. I like this poem. It’s well crafted and asks questions without pretending to know the answers.

  3. And could my Arbor Day could be the next evolution of the topiary cross? http://cherylsmithem.wordpress.com/2012/04/22/arbor-day/

    A wonderful poem this is.

Leave a comment