COUNTER CLOCKWORK HEARTBEAT

COUNTER CLOCKWORK HEARTBEAT
Bruce Ruston

Today I took my heart out,
placing it on my desk, to ask it
‘What is it that you do, what worth
do I attach to your mechanisms?’

A piece of tape came out,
crimson lace smeared the edges,
it read, I am the biomechanical
pumping device that works against
the counter clockwork heartbeat,
that you harbour in you.

Then the lungs whistle,
keen to enter a conversation
that I am beginning to wish
I never started. But I had to break
three ribs to get this far,
I am already invested.

‘Three years we’ve been pumping to
the heart, while waiting for you to admit
that the counter clockwork beat is
a natural defence that must now be re-examined.’

I merely nod, place my heart back in,
‘Is next Wednesday good for you,
can we talk again, this time can the liver,
join in to’.
 
©2012 This work is the property of the author.

Posted on May 14, 2012, in Bruce Ruston, POETRY and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Bruce’s first poem on MM. There are a couple more to come.

  2. I really like this! I remember reading it on your Brain in a Jar blog and it stuck in my head.

  3. Off the wall, just how I like it.

Leave a Reply

