CHINESE CHIMES: THE CONFESSION OF A CALENDAR

CHINESE CHIMES: THE CONFESSION OF A CALENDAR
Changming Yuan

it all began with an animal race Emperor Jade called to amuse himself and his earthly subjects…

Rat
yes, i admit betraying the cat as my only close friend
but i won the race, with my head rather than my legs

Ox
to honor my contract with the yellow sun
i eat green grass, yet give red meat to man

Tiger
as the only feared king of the thick jungle
i am afraid and tired of my own timidness

Rabbit
with my cagey ears held so high
i will not miss a sound of peace

Dragon
although my portraits hung lively above the clouds
no human eyes have ever seen my authentic being

Snake
the moment i sloughed off my old slim self
i forgot ever seducing any manhood in heaven

Horse
my body looks more masculine than a strong man
and my heart feels more feminine than a tender girl

Goat
when i bleat towards the passers-by
i never mean to speak in an other voice

Monkey
each time i try to find any lice in the corner of my mind
i act like the humans outside the fence with barbed wire

Rooster
with my wings plumed with the feathers of night
i can not fly but to crow loudly towards dawn

Dog
given my canine camaraderie and pack mentality
i feel at home before, among or behind soldiers

Pig
i spend all my lifetime wisely
to guard this single moment

©2012 This work is the property of the author.

Posted on May 18, 2012, in Changming Yuan, POETRY and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Very interesting. Is it a translation?

    • I doubt it, Changming has a PhD in English.

      Changming has written some good stuff, and there are a couple more to come. Natural Confrontations and My Crow, are both very well crafted poems, as is this.

  2. m lewis redford

    Poet

    I scribble ceaselessly while twitching my whiskers
    I hear the pencil-scratches but others read the poem

  3. It is very good and intresting I believe I was born under the year of the rat, I really like the idea of character but thay seem western rather than easten or maybe thats just me

  4. A jungle book of unexplored pictures of emerging animal magnetism in a comical yet humane
    poem of free expressionism.

Leave a Reply

