THE BOB DYLAN DREAM

THE BOB DYLAN DREAM
Larry Schug

I dreamed
Bob Dylan played the game,
spun the wheel of fortune
as blond Vanna flipped the letters,
smiled and clapped like a cheerleader,
and no matter how many clues were given,
how many letters shown,
Bob scratched his chin,
answered with a grin, said
The answer, my friend, is blowin’ in the wind;
the answer is blowin’ in the wind.
 
I half-awoke to write down this dream
in the middle of the night
and realized I was spinning the wheel
every time I closed my eyes.
I choose the same category every night,
“People who wake up in the morning”,
hoping the square with my name on the back
will be turned again. I spin the wheel with all my might,
hold my breath, hope for the best, fear bankruptcy,
bet everything and pray,
“Honey, just allow me one more chance”,
afraid that when the rooster crows at the break of dawn,
you’ll look out your window and I’ll be gone,
though I know there comes a day everyone will be movin’ on.

©2012 This work is the property of the author.

Posted on July 30, 2012, in Larry Schug, POETRY and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. More warm, human and moving work from Larry.

    Read his other poems by clicking the link:
    https://misfitsmiscellany.wordpress.com/category/larry-schug/

  2. As a writer who met Bob recording in his new york studio and wrote a poem about him
    and has enjoyed his music and lyrics Larry must have been blown away by his dream.
    Bob (Zimmerman) is very different than what the media feeds you. He is a seeker
    after truth,not what is portrayed by those who want you to have the mass media’s music
    to their ears crowd portrait of Bob. Some day,you will find the true yet complex and real Bob Dylan who has a gifted soul and poet unlike what is portrayed ,which will be a revelation to the masses which is mind controlled by the mass media.Wind means spirit and Bob yearns for the spirit.He is a creative being and maybe through a poet’s dream reality will set in like the light of day, and the truth soon will be blowing in the wind.

  3. perfect just perfect the poem and the comments by BZ Niditch guess were all feeling the wavelengths at the moment

Leave a Reply

