IF YOU LEAVE ME, I’M GOING TO PAINT SAD CLOWNS

IF YOU LEAVE ME, I’M GOING TO PAINT SAD CLOWNS
Kevin Ridgeway

So please don’t go
here in the mire
I’ll leak color
onto dried spider web
encrusted canvases
frowning greasepaint
mouths flooded
by the blue
eye shadow
drizzle
of melting eyes
the feral cats will
piss on my
works in progress,
and the possum
I’ll be feeding
will chew
on the edges of
each bloated
red nosed frame
and I will surely
die covered
in the mask
of a morbidly
depressed
fun maestro
the fruits of
my tragic labor
sitting in the
corner of
a garage sale
behind the
buy-one-get-one-free
Jim Nabors LP’s
and mother
will finally
give in and
place one of
the atrocities
posthumously
where my own
portrait once
hung, more
disturbing
to glance
at my grim bloat
than
that of a sad clown
painted in the
aftermath
of your flight.

so baby please don’t go

©2012 This work is the property of the author.

Posted on August 8, 2012, in Kevin Ridgeway, POETRY and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Love this poem from Kevin. I recommend his NO PAJAMAS poem if you enjoyed this:
    https://misfitsmiscellany.wordpress.com/2012/07/15/no-pajamas/

  2. What could be more ignominious than being hidden behind the Jim Nabors LPs? This is truly a blues poem. Baby, please don’t go. I say paint the clowns whether she stays or leaves.

  3. Truly a horror tale in poetic form. Since we all know clowns portend it…

  4. Allie Marini Batts

    Kevin, you know I love your work, but the inclusion of possums makes this my all-time favorite, as you might have guessed!

  5. Kevin being a cool cat takes a leak and dumps at con artists conventional pictures for a pastiche of a post modernist Pierrot and Harlequin while hiding his good old boy kitchy LP’S by who of all his neighbors, Jim Nabors, would be cruising by for a good look while Kevin by his grim boat is ready to rock,roll and row row row with the right gal who would float his boat.

Leave a Reply

