A LETTER OF TRANSIENCE, I

A LETTER OF TRANSIENCE, I
Constantine Mountrakis

Spiraling earthward,
A lament,
Like the monumental architecture
Of a conquered civilization,
Its voice eclipsed,
Memorializing transitions:
Despair to love,
Laid down by architects greater than me,
For archaeologists greater than me.

And yet,
I am more than
The fistful of bones I cast,
More than the dust I curate
To its ultimate home,
More than the myths of my language:
Of the war of the dead upon the living,
Of the war of faces
That God wears to deceive me.

©2012 This work is the property of the author.

Posted on September 10, 2012, in Constantine Mountrakis, POETRY and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. MM is pleased to welcome Constantine Mountrakis. He’s sent in three well crafted and thought provoking poems, and this is the first.

  2. A civilization unearthed by Constantine Mountrakis’s powerful pitchfork of words.

  3. This reminds me of ‘Prometheus’ – anyone else?
    Soem beautiful lines here. :-)

  4. Sorry – *some* – no sleep last night.

  5. Allie Marini Batts

    Great work, Costa–I especially love the lines: “Laid down by architects greater than me/
    For archaeologists greater than me.”– the mirroring of the language really showcases the vastness and smallness of the dueling ideas you’re presenting here. This piece feels epic, and I love it.

  6. Thank you for the comments everyone. If anyone cares to point out anything that could improve, please do say so. I need the constructive criticism!

  7. Lovely and powerful.

  8. A great piece and ends so well, looking forward to the next two

Leave a Reply

