UPSIDE DOWN IN A TREE

UPSIDE DOWN IN A TREE
Philip Vermaas

(love)
My heart’s the buoy
of my soul,
that’s how I know
it’s in a hole.

(pleasure)
My soul’s just brighter
than my heart,
that’s how I know
my soul is dark.

(thought)
My mind is dimmer
than them both,
that’s how I know
this won’t be quoth.

(death)
My body bends
to all three,
that’s how I know
it’s turned on me.

©2012 This work is the property of the author.

Posted on December 3, 2012, in Philip Vermaas, POETRY and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. I’m publishing one of my own. I don’t know if I believe in this poem, in its content, but I liked it as I wrote it.

  2. What’s there not to believe? It’s wonderful.

  3. Phillip’s poem moves us because it’s four foundations in our lifetime are perceptively and
    sensitively explored as our essential and existential exploration. Thank you.

  4. These bodies we have–made to break, born to die. Luckily we have minds, hearts, and souls

  5. It’s nice to write it down, and then figure out what you meant later.

Leave a comment