A BAD DAY

A BAD DAY
Jean Byrne

Bastards, the lot of them
Not an ounce of compassion
Between them
I search desperately for
A glimmer of tenderness
In their blank glassy eyes
Until I become weary
I retreat back into my shell
Only to encounter the same
Empty space where humanity should be
But today is a bad day

©2012 This work is the property of the author.

Posted on August 31, 2012, in Jean Byrne, POETRY and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. An unfussy poem from Jean, which I thought might be a good primer for those of you heading out of the cold office and into the freedom of the weekend.

    Read Jean’s other poem, LIQUID AND SMOKE:

    LIQUID AND SMOKE

    And she’s also written some impressive prose:

    JEAN BYRNE

  2. love this one…

  3. Well I am really in the right mood for this great first line

  4. Like Alice through the looking glass the poem looks at hollow men as she feels smaller
    in her own reflection and need of tenderness or recognition. Like Bartleby in Herman Melville’s The Scrivener at his wits end sighs, Ah Bartleby, ah humanity.”

  5. Ha! I like your last line. Never judge the world on a bad day. :)

  6. a moebius poem – true because its out is in

Leave a comment