RAFFLESIA ARNOLDI

RAFFLESIA ARNOLDI
Cristina del Canto

My love, you’re an island,
I will not pass you by.
Together, we’ll drink grass jelly
from cracked coconut shells,
using sticks to write poetry in the sand.
Komodos will watch us,
flicking their pink forked tongues
as you pick me a flower,
the largest in the world,
in full bloom,
with an odor of decaying flesh.
And when days threaten our youth
you will shout out that you
find my crow’s feet sexy,
my gray hair alluring,
my aged mind astute.
We will then laugh because
we are tiny dots,
in a big archipelago,
What more could we be?

©2012 This work is the property of the author.

Posted on September 1, 2012, in Cristina del Canto, POETRY and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. It’s not all sex, politics, satire and existential examination here at MM. There’s love and hope, too, as this poem by Cristina del Canto proves. And I did look up the titular flower, which is one that produces “the largest single flower on earth and is known for its odour of decaying flesh”.

  2. A gravitas of memory follows Cristina in her poetic voyage of unabashed love.

  3. Beautiful poem. Would like to read more from this author. Where can I find her work?

Leave a comment